Animal Crossing – A Look Back

Here we sit about a month into New Horizons being out. Today I decided to load up the old games and check on town’s that I haven’t touched in years. I wanted to see how the games and my old houses looked and basically reminisce. If you want to know more about the games, look them up further, I’ll only have basic house-related information here, I’m mostly just showing off my houses of past games here.

Animal Crossing (GameCube):

The Original Animal Crossing for the GameCube, this came out in 2001. I didn’t play this one much, I think I bought this after playing Wild World for a bit, I didn’t have many items and only one room at my house. I have no memory of this town name or what it might relate to. Saving was done at the Gyroid outside the house. This game was split up into screens instead of one big scrolling outdoor area. If you don’t play for a long time, weeds grow throughout town and roaches infest your house and you have to walk on them to kill them.

Wild World (DS)

This was the first Animal Crossing I really played, Wild World came out for the DS in 2005. Back in these days, my main character was always named Sasuke, man I was really into Naruto back then. Apparently, I couldn’t even spell the town name correctly. At this point, there were 4 rooms on the main floor, a second floor, and an attic that was where all the characters slept. Beds were where you went to save. There was no basement here. I seem to have had a tendency to cram each room as full as I could. In Wild World bed head hair was added to roaches and weeds as a result of not playing for a long time.

City Folk (Wii)

I was incorrect on when this came out, I thought it was before Wild World. City Folk came out for the Wii in 2008. At one point in time, I stopped liking Sasuke as a character name and switched to Kuro, which has been my screen name and such since. Apparently, that happened sometime during City Folk since I have characters with both screen names. More references, Trandr was actually a reference to the Dr Tran animations. City Folk Had 3 floors not counting the attic, there were no side rooms on the main floor. The internet tells me this is how it was in the original game.

New Leaf (3DS)

New Leaf came out for the 3DS in 2012 and is probably the one I played the Most. Isabelle came along in New Leaf to assist the player in the mayor duties. She would take care of things like weeds when you didn’t play for a long time, it’s been about 7 years and there were no weeds when I logged in, I guess Isabelle is the mayor now. I named the town Pokke after the village in Monster Hunter Freedom Unite, one of my favorite games I used to play with some great people. I went all out with decorating the town and using patterns, like the waterway pictured. A lot of my designs you can find in other posts here with the QR codes for them, they can also be transferred to New Horizons (I have moved them over myself). I also hope the Nintendo themed items find their way into New Horizons at some point. I need to stop packing my rooms with items just to show them off and actually make some nice-looking rooms for once, although my New Leaf house doesn’t seem that bad compared to the others.

About Kartridge Kuro

ET for Atari 2600 Defender

Posted on April 19, 2020, in Blogroll and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.