The Wonders of Sea of Thieves Rejoin Session Feature

I just want to stress how awesome the rejoin session feature is after an experience I had today.

Recently, I have been running the Tall Tales in Sea of Thieves as a solo player, I always wanted to get each on done the five times you have to do them for max completion, Quarantine work from home is still going for me so I have had time to finally sit down and do one two or three a day. I am finally on the final one Shores of Gold. I ran it once today already and mysteriously gained 20k gold for the Gold Hoarders skull instead of the normal 10k gold. Turns out this is a double gold and reputation weekend. Such a revelation spurred me on to do it two more times and complete it once and for all.

On the second run, I sailed up while finding a collectors chest along the way to make collecting tokens quicker. I had already grabbed two tokens and was on my way to the third when disaster struck. The power in my apartment went out long enough, a second or two, to shut down literally everything. I was pissed, and rightfully so. dreading the half hour to sail back and start over. I really wanted to finish my tall tales while the Gold Hoarders skull was worth 20k, so I turned my Xbox back on and logged back in.

To my surprise, the game asked me if I wanted to rejoin my session, I have seen this option when playing with friends and getting disconnected, an easy quick back in to my crew and ship. My heart began to show hope, but surely the few minutes I have been off now were enough to lose my ship and server, so I clicked yes to rejoin session with hope in my heart.

Success, amazing wonderful success, I was placed back on my ship unmoved in the Shores of Gold, it took me a few minutes to run back over and find where my collectors chest was dropped and I happily continued on my way through my Tall Tale having lost absolutely nothing except maybe 5-10 minutes of time.

The Rejoin Session feature is valuable and indispensable, and I wish many other games both single and multiplayer would make use of how it works because sometimes autosave just isn’t enough.

As a side note, due to the double gold and reputation weekend, I received 16k gold for completing the tale and 20k gold for the skull. That’s 36k gold for each time through. I was originally planning to do this at one run a day and finish sometime next week, but there is no better time to do the final Tall Tale than a double gold weekend so I might as well just keep running it today.

About Kartridge Kuro

ET for Atari 2600 Defender

Posted on October 30, 2020, in Blogroll. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.